Sin is not a problem for me anymore

2 12 2007

Sin is not a problem. I can’t resolve it! I can’t solve it! I can’t overcome it!  It’s not a problem. I need to be rescued from sin. I need a savior–sin is trouble.

Problems are issues that can be resolved/solved/overcome. We can apply our intellect and resources toward problems and make them go away. Problems can often be rather satisfying. We can show others how we solved a sticky situation and be proud about how we overcame it.

On the other hand, troubles cannot be solved. We need to be rescued from trouble. Trouble cannot be solved.

Some examples: Noah faced problems in building the ark, he faced trouble in the flood. Sailors face problems as they trim sails and navigate storms, they face trouble if the ship were to capsize. I saw a news story about some firefighters working a forest fire: they attacked a raging brush fire–that was a problem for which they were equipped; then conditions changed and they were suddenly surrounded by fire and had to get inside their protective shelters–they were suddenly in trouble and needed to be rescued.

Sin is not a problem–sin is trouble. We cannot solve sin, we cannot resolve sin, we cannot overcome sin. We must be rescued from sin.

No one likes to be in trouble, we’d rather deal with problems (problems allow some measure of control). So sin is often defined as a problem, if you just do certain things, you can overcome sin–make decisions, read books, complete spiritual exercises and you can overcome sin. But sin is trouble. We need to be rescued. And we are rescued by our Savior giving His life on a cross. We are rescued by the Holy Spirit awakening and sustaining faith within our hearts.

This is why we are to have no pride in our salvation. Problem solvers are proud. People who have been rescued are thankful.

When someone has been rescued, the typical response is to thank the rescuer. People will go through great lengths to identify anonymous heroes because they want to thank the hero.

People who have been rescued don’t show pride in themselves, you don’t hear, “did you hear how I screamed my head off until someone came? I was awesome!” Being rescued is a humbling experience–it hammers home the point that we do not stand on our own.

I no longer use the phrase “sin problem”, the phrase implies that we can do something to solve it. (Now from God’s point of view, sin is a problem, He solved it!) I use the phrase “sin trouble”, the phrase implies that we need to be rescued.


Actions

Information

3 responses

3 12 2007
Lutheran Carnival LXIV « Living Sermons

[…] Sin is no longer a problem for me! Take a look a little further down in my blog to find out more! […]

4 12 2007
Alden

Great post! I really like your definition of sin as “trouble.” I came to a similar realization last year teaching a Sunday School class on the book of John. In a couple of places Jesus equates sin with illness or infirmity, and that’s how he dealt with it. Jesus didn’t condemn sinners, he forgave them. However, I like your term trouble, rather than illness, although both are probably accurate (I hope you don’t mind me “borrowing” the term from now on). Sin is not something to solve, we need rescue.

Again, great thoughts, thanks.

30 05 2008
preambular

Preambular says : I absolutely agree with this !

Leave a comment